Strawberry Financiers

 

S recently bought me the Bourke Street Bakery cookbook as a small gift. As you know I have been getting into baking my own bread, but I didn’t have any ‘trustworthy’ recipes I could challenge myself with. I have already made a Crusty White Loaf but it has become rather boring. Luckily the book arrived just in time. Not only does it have an extensive range of breads it also has a huge pastry and dessert sections. My dream come true.

Before we moved to Europe, S and I used to make a few trips to the Bourke Street Bakery in Marrickville, not far from home. Now we reminisce over the delicious olive oil loaves we used to buy, or my personal favourite, their chocolate tart. Now I have all of the recipes at my disposal, you will definitely be seeing a lot from their cookbook soon.

My obsession with the new season strawberries continues, I knew I had to make this recipe as soon as I saw it. I have altered the recipe slightly, replacing the 90 grams of all-purpose flour with more ground almonds, as I am taking them to a friend’s house for dessert tonight and a guest cannot have gluten.

 

Strawberry Financiers

240g ground almonds

240g icing sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

280ml egg whites – approx 8

250g unsalted butter, melted

6 strawberries, hulled and halved



Preheat your oven to 190 degrees celcius and lightly grease a 12 hole muffin tin with butter.

Place the almonds, sugar, and baking powder into a large mixing bowl. Add the egg whites, a little at a time, whisking well after each addition. Pour in the melted butter and whisk until just combined.

Spoon the mixture into the muffin tin, until they are almost full, then place a strawberry half into the top of each financier.

Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes until golden, or until a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Turn onto a cooling rack and then serve.




As you know by now, I have a slight sweet tooth. But I promise to have some more savoury posts soon.