Be My Valentine

To me there really is nothing more romantic than eating warm crumble with custard in bed with your loved one. (eating in bed…. yes I know). Although I am a true sucker for chocolate – it doesn’t mean every Valentine’s day calls for boxes of chocolate or an ooze-y chocolate soufflé. If you are looking to make someone feel special, I guarantee a nice apple and rhubarb crumble eaten warm on the couch (especially on a snowy day) will score you big bonus points – at least in my book anyway.

Apple and Rhubarb Crumble

3 gala apples, peeled and sliced into pieces

5 rhubarb stalks, cut into 1cm pieces

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

100 g butter, melted

3/4 cup dark brown sugar

Place the sliced apple and rhubarb into an oven proof dish. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Combine the oats, brown sugar and melted butter into a separate bowl and stir until combined. Place the oats mixture on top of the fruit, until covered. Bake the dish for approximately 30 minutes or until the fruit is cooked. Serve warm with custard or ice cream. 

