Smitten’s Blood Orange Cake

 

Last week we received blood oranges in our weekly Riverford fruit and veg box. We both love fresh blood orange juice, but we only received 4 – hardly enough to make juice. So instead I looked for a recipe on my favourite blog Smitten Kitchen for a blood orange cake to make, as we were expecting a few people for lunch the next day. To my delight I found this recipe here.

 

 

This recipe worked beautifully, although the cooking time recommended was 50-55 minutes ours took more like 60-65 minutes. It certainly was a very moist, almost buttery (considering there wasn’t any butter used), definitely one to be added to my frequently used recipe mountain. Even though our blood oranges were’t very bloody, it still worked a treat!

 

 

Lots more posts planned – coming soon!

 

