Heston’s Dinner

 

A few weeks ago S and I went with his brother, and his girlfriend to Heston Blumenthal’s Dinner restaurant in the Mandarin Orient Hotel for lunch. S has always wanted to go to one of Heston’s restaurants and so we jumped on the occasion to go. Now when most people think Heston they think smoking cauldrons combined with designed perfumes to heighten the dining experience or to recreate a childhood memory of his. However, this Heston restaurant combines fine dining with old english recipes, and all I can say is, it truly was exquisite.

 

 

Although if you are hoping to go to this restaurant, make sure you book well in advance as Dinner is fully booked 3- 4 months in advance, but we were lucky enough to get a booking for lunch just a few weeks ahead.

 

 

After drooling over the menu, a little indecisive, I ordered the set lunch menu. When most people think of set menus you think of old repetitive meals that the chefs repeat again and again. However a reasonable £33 for a 3 course menu, and I have to say it is the best meal I have ever eaten, and it didn’t even break the bank. Entrees, S had a crab loaf – a crabby savoury french toast like dish. I had a lemony salad with goats cheese and raisins. One of our friends, had Heston’s trick chicken liver pate – presented as a mandarin, amazing is all I can say. As mains, I had the slow cooked pork belly, which came with delicious black pudding and mashed potato – truly delicious. S had a rump steak with Heston’s world famous triple cooked chips (which every chef is now making), which for my liking were a little too glass – like. But my dessert really was the best bit, an orange loaf cake with mandarin and thyme sorbet – the most refreshing I have ever eaten, with the outside of the cake a yummy orange creme brûlée.

 

 

After the meal, we were well and truly stuffed and as an after dinner mint we were presented with a milk chocolate and earl grey tea mousse – equally as indulgent as the rest of the meal, and a welcomed treat at the end. Our experience at Dinner, was certainly one to remember and I highly recommend it to anyone visiting London – but remember to book ahead!

 

 

