Hugh’s Parsnip Soup

Christmas has been and gone and it is now 2012, I now have quite a few new cookbooks for  to drool over , and a new lens to play with! Over Christmas I fell in love with a new veggie – parsnip. They are deliciously sweet and turn any tray of roast veggies into a success. Then while I was looking through one of my many new Hugh Fearnley -Whittingstall books, I came across a recipe for Parsnip and Ginger soup, now although I have made a few minor alterations (as I forgot to buy ginger) it still came out quite delicious.

This soup is a great winter warmer, with a bit of added heat to spice things up a bit – just what you need on a rainy day. This recipe is from Hugh’s new Veg Everyday book, something I hope to be cooking out of at least once a week this year – although we do have a freezer full of meat at the moment…

Parsnip (and Ginger) soup:

1 tbsp olive oil

15 g butter

1 large onion, chopped finely

4 garlic cloves, chopped finely

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

500g parsnips, peeled and chopped into 1cm cubes

800ml vegetable stock

200ml milk

salt and pepper to season

Heat the oil and butter in a pan, then add the onion and garlic to soften for about 10 minutes. Add the spices, then add the parsnips and mix until well coated. Add the vegetable stock and cook until the parsnips are soft – about 15 minutes. 

Allow the soup to cool slightly then puree in a food processor. Add the milk and adjust the seasoning.  Serve with crusty bread and a dash of cream.

